Mak’s Back – Cooking Up Restaurant Style Shashito Peppers

Hello world! It’s been a while, but starting today we are going to be back into action. We are revamping the style of the blog a bit by now focusing on both restaurant foods I fall in love with and those that I bring home and recreate myself.

So, to kick things off, I want to share my restaurant style shashito pepper recipe. My brother Sean came to visit a few weeks ago and brought us a bag of shashito peppers. It’s something I’ve never made before but love to order in restaurants. My shishito pepper recipe is an inspiration from Sushi Samba’s Shashito Peppers. I like how they bring in a citrus flavor to accent the salty flavor.

Restaurant Style Shashito Peppers

Michelle’s Restaurant Style Shashito Peppers

So, it’s as simple as this Blistered Shashito Pepper Recipe. All you need is:

  1. Fresh shashito peppers
  2. Oil (canola or vegetable)
  3. Sea Salt
  4. 1 Lime (Peel and juice)

I decided to use my cast iron skillet because I feel it is the best way to evenly heat and cook with oil. So, preheat your skillet (2-3 minutes) and add in 1/3 cup of oil. Pour the oil into the hot cast iron skillet and then slowly add the fresh shashito peppers into the hot oil. Now, please be careful because these peppers splatter because of their water content.

Then, let the peppers cook for about 1-2 minutes in the oil, turning once the pepper skin is blistered or slightly burnt looking. Then, turn and cook the other side of the pepper. Once the peppers are cooked on both sides, pull them out of the oil and place them on a paper towel to soak up the excess oil. Transfer the cooked peppers to a bowl and sprinkle with sea salt, the zest of one lime. Then add the juice of 1/2 of a lime. And that’s it! Restaurant quality shashito peppers at home.  Enjoy!

Leave a comment